Sacraments of the
Catholic Church
Painting of The Seven Sacraments by Roger van der Weyden  - 1445AD.  CLICK TO ENLARGE
The Seven Sacraments are:
Baptism - Gives us the grace to live a holy life by removing all sins from our soul.  
(Acts 2:38-39)

Eucharist - Gives us the grace to love Jesus with all our hearts and to love our
neighbors as we love ourselves.
 (Matthew 26:26-28)

Reconciliation - Gives us the grace to overcome our sinful desires and actions.
(Matthew 16:19 & John 20:19-23)

Confirmation - Gives us the grace and strength to be strong in faith and loyal to
Jesus Christ as we journey to heaven.
 (Acts 8:14-17 & 19:6)

Marriage - Gives a husband and a wife the grace of loving one another until death
and of being good parents.
 (Tobias 7:15)

Holy Orders - Gives priests the grace to live good lives dedicated to preaching the
Gospel and administering the sacraments.
(Eph 4:11-12)  

Anointing of the Sick -  Gives us the grace to accept our sicknesses and to die
a good death.  
(Mark 6:13)
The 7 Sacraments are the means in which the Catholic Church dispenses the Graces
which Jesus Christ merited for us by his death on the Cross.  These graces are called
Sacramental Graces.  The Catholic Church teaches that Christ established these
sacraments which are administered by the Church.